How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on TikTok: 4 Easy Methods
When you buy something through one of the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Figuring out how to tell if someone blocked you on TikTok is probably all you can think about if you suspect you've been wrongfully blocked.
And whether you feel you deserved this blocking or not, without the know-how, it can be tough to determine whether it really is the case.
So here, we share four easy methods for determining if another account has blocked you on TikTok.
Let's get into it!
- How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on TikTok
- Why Would Someone Block Me on TikTok?
- Best Practices for Interacting on TikTok
- Finding Out Someone Blocked You on TikTok
How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on TikTok
Here are four quick and easy ways to help you find out if you've been blocked:
- Entering their username in the search bar
- Scrolling through your direct messages
- Checking your followers and following lists
- Looking at old comments
Even if you can't utilize all four methods, at least one should work for your situation.
Let's review each one in detail below.
Enter their Username in the Search Bar
One of the easiest ways to tell if someone blocked you on TikTok is by searching their username.
Go to the TikTok app and click on the magnifying glass icon. The search bar will then appear. This is where you will enter the person's username and tap "search".
If their profile icon isn't listed in the search results, this could indicate that they've blocked you.
However, it could also mean that they've deactivated their account. You can confirm this by having a friend search for the user's profile. If they also cannot see their profile, the person's page might be deactivated.
If they can see the person's profile, then you're probably blocked by that person.
For example, I can see that "Niche Pursuits" has not blocked me on TikTok - phew!
Scroll Through your DMs
Checking your direct messages, or DMs, with the potentially blocked person is another way to know if someone blocked your account.
This is one of the quickest methods that is very low effort.
Go to the Inbox tab at the bottom of the TikTok app. This will take you to your direct messages.
Just scroll through your messages with other users to find your message with the person who potentially blocked you. If it says "account not found" instead of listing their username, it's likely that this person has blocked your account.
There is a small amount of good news in this situation: you can still scroll through and read previous messages.
However, you cannot send or receive new messages from this account. If you try to DM a blocked account, you will receive an error message. This means you will have to use another social media platform to try to reach this person.
Check your Follower and Following Lists
If a TikTok user who used to be one of your followers blocks you, they'll no longer appear in your followers list.
Check your follower list to find out if one of your former followers blocked you.
Similarly, you can take note if your follower count has decreased by one. This could be an indication that someone has blocked you.
Similarly, if you also used to follow them, check your following list to see if you still follow them. If they're also absent from this list, they may have blocked your account on TikTok.
Look at Old Comments
Looking at old comments you left on their videos is another way to know if someone blocked you on TikTok.
If you've left a comment on another user's video, that comment probably received likes and replies. These likes and replies will show up as notifications.
Tap the notifications icon and scroll until you find a notification pertaining to one of your comments on this person's videos.
Tap on the notification, which will then take you to the corresponding video. If you're unable to see this person's video, they might've deleted it or blocked you.
You can also have a friend try this method to determine if the video was deleted or if they actually blocked you.
Why Would Someone Block Me on TikTok?
Finding out someone has blocked you on TikTok might come as a shock to you. It might even upset you. However, it might not be a surprise to you at all, depending on the way you interact on the platform.
For example, did you leave a mean comment? Or did they block your account for other reasons?
Here are a few reasons why someone on TikTok might block your account:
- You left a mean comment on their video: The comment section on TikTok can be a place for humor and discussion. However, it can also turn into a place for arguments. Many users feel that trolling is at its worst on TikTok. This is why many creators have a zero-tolerance policy for mean comments on their videos. They're trying to maintain a positive presence on the platform. TikTok users can often be quick to block followers who post mean comments.
- They don't want you to see their videos: If this person is someone you know in the real world, like a family member or friend, they might not want you to see the videos they're posting. In this instance, blocking you might be more about their behavior than yours.
- Other TikTok users might not like or want to engage with your content: If someone blocks you, your videos will no longer appear on their Discover page. Users will often block other accounts because they do not like their content on this particular social media platform. This might be because your content goes against their beliefs, you're too focused on selling, or your content is offensive. And even if you want to make money on TikTok without followers, you'll likely want to avoid alienating fellow TikTokers.
Best Practices for Interacting on TikTok
Learning someone banned your account on TikTok might be upsetting to you. The best way to potentially prevent people from feeling the need to block you on the app is to interact on the platform positively.
To help you engage in behavior that prevents others from blocking you on TikTok based on your interactions, here are our top tips:
Don't Leave a Mean Comment
Leaving mean comments is one way to deteriorate comment culture on the app.
Even if a mean thought enters your head, it doesn't mean you need to write it in a comment on a video.
Leaving a mean comment on a video will actually show the algorithm that you want to see more of this person's content.
So scrolling away from the video is your best option.
Adhere to TikTok's Community Guidelines
When interacting on the app, following TikTok's Community Guidelines can help keep your account in good standing.
It details their community principles of maintaining balance, dignity, and fairness in their daily efforts of running the platform. It also details what's considered appropriate and inappropriate when interacting on the app.
Don't Spam Other Accounts
Engaging in spam-like behavior will most likely get your account blocked by other people.
Going through someone's profile and liking every video is just one example of spam-like behavior you shouldn't do.
Delete Any Offense Content That Violates Community Guidelines
People will probably block you if your content is offensive.
Deleting overtly offensive content can help prevent people from wanting to block you.
Don't Be Too Focused on Sales
Even though engaging in TikTok affiliate marketing to earn commissions might be your overall goal when creating content, it doesn't mean you should forget about entertaining or educating your audience. If other accounts are blocking you because your content is too focused on selling and not entertaining, it might be time to rethink your social media strategy.
Part of learning how to get more views on TikTok is learning how to properly interact on the app. With a few intentional changes to how you engage on TikTok, you can prevent other accounts from blocking your profile.
Finding Out Someone Blocked You on TikTok
Whether someone has blocked you because you left a mean comment on their video or because they simply do not like your content, this article dove into four ways to know if someone blocked you on TikTok.
Additionally, we hope our best practices for interacting on TikTok will help prevent other users from feeling the need to block you in the future.
Want to learn step-by-step how I built my Niche Site Empire up to a full-time income?
Yes! I Love to Learn
Learn How I Built My Niche Site Empire to a Full-time Income
- How to Pick the Right Keywords at the START, and avoid the losers
- How to Scale and Outsource 90% of the Work, Allowing Your Empire to GROW Without You
- How to Build a Site That Gets REAL TRAFFIC FROM GOOGLE (every. single. day.)
- Subscribe to the Niche Pursuits Newsletter delivered with value 3X per week
My top recommendations